222 Broad St / PO Box 710, Camden, SC 29020
803-432-9841
info@historiccamden.org
  • VISIT
  • EXPLORE
  • SUPPORT
  • BLOG
  • VISIT
    EXPLORE
    SUPPORT
    BLOG

    WHAT'S HAPPENING

    THE BRICKYARD

    Add placed by Joseph Kershaw in the South Carolina Gazette on June 3, 1783

    Brickyard

    The brickyard is a hands-on living history exhibit centered around the production of 18th century wood-fired bricks. Our brickyard is located near the 1777 Gunpowder Magazine built by patriot Col. Joseph Kershaw using 225,140 bricks.

    Pavilion

    The brickyard pavilion is a 30ft x 42ft pegged timber frame building built by a wonderful group of volunteers. Today the pavilion is the focal point of the brickyard, housing the pottery Bottle Kiln as well as the brick making and clay processing area.

    Making Bricks

    Visitors to the colonial brickyard at Historic Camden throughout the spring and summer can participate in the making of colonial bricks and in the fall they can help us build and wood-fire the brick kiln.

    Wood-firing Bricks

    In late fall at Historic Camden’s colonial brickyard we build a brick kiln called a clamp to burn the green bricks made by visitors during the spring and summer.

    Make A Difference

    The Historic Camden Foundation is not state or federally funded so we rely on individual donations. Even a small donation truly helps. So please send a gift and make a difference!